WENY is seeking to resolve negotiation with DirecTV


Village Elections Being Held Tuesday

Written By: Kellie Meyer

Village elections are happening across the state today.

Village Elections Being Held Tuesday

March 18, 2014

SOUTHERN TIER (WENY) -- Polls are opening across New York state Tuesday in the village elections. We have a list of candidates from Chemung, Steuben, Schuyler and Tompkins Counties.

     In Chemung County elections are being held in Elmira Heights, Millport, Van Etten and and Wellsburg.
     Two candidates are running for trustee in Elmira Heights, Gary Pateluns running for one spot and Dale Terry running for the other. You can vote at the Village Hall, 215 Elmwood Avenue in Elmira Heights.
     Three seats are open in Van Etten, two for regular terms one for a shorter term. The three candidates are Roger Briggs, Jacqui Boda and Kathy Forbes. The two highest vote counts will take the two year term, the lesser votes will take the lesser term, taking the remainder of the term Mayor Loomis vacated. Voting is at the Village Center.
     In Millport, elections are being held for the Mayor and two board members, no one is contesting. Polling place is Village Hall, 4246 Main Street in Millport.
     In Wellsburg Joseph Holly is running for Village Justice. Deborah Lewis and Thomas Benedick are running for Trustee. Malcolm Coles is running for Mayor.
Voting is taking place at the Wellsburg Fire Department.

     Four Tompkins County villages will hold elections Tuesday, with only one contested race happening.
     In Cayuga Heights elections are being held for Mayor and three trustee positions. Polling place is Savage Farm Drive in Ithaca.
     Two trustee positions are open in Dryden. Voting is at Village Hall 16 South Street, 2nd floor.
     Also two trustee positions in Groton. Polling place is the Village Office, at 143 Cortland Street.
     And in Trumansburg, positions for Mayor and 2 trustees are open. Polling place is the Village Office Building, 56 East Main Street (Elm Street entrance). 

     In Steuben County, the elections are as follows:
     Arkport has open positions for the Mayor and two trustees and they are two year terms. Charles Flanders is running for Mayor. Jon Hedges and Susan Thompson running for trustee positions. All running unopposed. You can vote at Village Hall Community Room at 6 Park Avenue.
     In Avoca, there are no elections. No one was on the ballot.
     In Bath, William Von Hagn is running for Mayor in both democratic and republican spot. Ira Hale is running for trustee. Jeanie Glass and Michael Sweet are running for trustees for two year terms. Michael McNally running for trustee for the one year term unexpired. Polling place is the Municiple Building on Liberty Street.
     In North Hornell, the election is uncontested. John Falci is running again for Mayor. Frank Libordi and Glenn Thomas are running for trustee positions. Polling place is at the Village Hall on West Maplewood Avenue.
     Painted Post has all unopposed candidates. Roswell Crozier Jr. is up for re-election for Mayor. Two trustees for four year terms: Richard Lewis and Ralph Foster. And David W. Smith is running for two-year term trustee. The voting is at 261 Steuben Street, Painted Post.  
     Riverside elections Carol Ferratella and Jordan Turner are running for trustee. People can vote at the Village Hall, 35 Stanton Street in Painted Post.
     In South Corning two trustees are being elected. Both are unopposed. One is Jim Thomas and the other is Chet Tuttle. Polling location is at 7 Clark Street, Corning.

    In Schuyler County, the elections are as follows: 
    In Montour Falls, two people are running for village trustee, both are uncontested races.  Philip J. Smith and James P. Ryan are the candidates.  One person is running for village justice, this race is also uncontested.  That candidate is Donald Spaccio.  Voters can cast a ballot at 408 W. Main Street at the Village Hall.