EAST HARTFORD, C.T. (WENY) - The Southern Tier was well-represented in Monday's NCAA Division-I Men's Lacrosse Championship game as top-ranked Maryland capped off a perfect season with a 9-7 win over Cornell, with Corning natives Logan McNaney (Goalie) and John Tillman (Head Coach) capturing the Title with the Terrapins.

The Big Red struck first with 7:28 left in the first quarter on an unassisted goal by CJ Kirst, but then Maryland went on a 5-goal run, 4 of them being scored by Anthony DeMaio. The Terrapins would take a 7-2 lead into the half.

Maryland extended their lead to 9-2 in the 3rd, but Cornell chipped away at the lead, scoring 5 unanswered goals to get within 2, however, the Terrapins were able to hang on for the victory.

McNaney tallied 17 saves in the win for Maryland, and he was named the most outstanding player in the D-1 Men's Lacrosse Championship. McNaney is 35-1 as a starting goalie. DeMaio scored 4 goals and Logan Wisnauskas had 2 goals.

Maryland becomes the first undefeated Division-I national champion in men's lacrosse since 2006, and they are the first ever to finish 18-0 or better.

CJ Kirst led the Big Red with 2 goals while Chayse Ierlan recorded 9 saves. Cornell finishes the season 14-5 overall. Connor Buczek becomes the youngest coach to lead a team to the National Championship game in 50 years.