CORNING, N.Y. (WENY) -- For nearly two decades, First Heritage Federal Credit Union has recognized the efforts of local students, dubbed "Everyday Heroes," each year. On Wednesday, 78 students were awarded at the Corning Museum of Glass for their volunteer efforts and mentoring their peers with a plaque and a $50 Visa gift card.  

“We know as an organization that we need to recognize these young people in our communities and let them know that what they're doing is noticed, needed, and appreciated.”  

When the event started, students were picked from five local schools, compared to now, with 78 students selected from 17 schools. Christy Parsons with First Heritage says local heroes don't always get the recognition they deserve, and it's important to celebrate these kids.  

“Some of the kids say, 'I'm just doing that because that's what I'm supposed to do,' but not everybody does that,” Parsons said, adding, “So, we wanted to celebrate them and do it on this level, so they know it makes a difference in their community."  

Campbell-Savona High School Freshman Sarah McKenna couldn't believe she won the $1,000 grand prize Wednesday afternoon. She felt honored to be recognized for making an impact.  

"I think it's a great thing,” McKenna said, adding, “This whole thing was well-put together, and it's so nice.”  

WENY-TV is also a partner with First Heritage for the Everyday Heroes program. A full list of this year’s award recipients can be viewed below.  


Award Winners:

Addison High School – Josian Clark, Patience Hill, Charles Jacobson, Faith Skowvron, Kylene Stierly 

Campbell-Savona – Sage Brinckerhoff, Anthony Bulkley, Karissa Champion, Harley Hilligus, Sarah McKenna 

Corning Christian Academy – Zephyr Hassan, Brooke Leonard, Emma Stephens, Payton Thomas, Avery Underwood 

Corning-Painted Post High School – Gyasi Ruffin, Megan Kirk, Preston Ogunwumi, Ashti Tiwari 

Cowanesque Valley High School – Bryson Fuhrer, William Ladd, Paisley Nudd, Cody Peers, Janna Quick 

Elmira High School – Cody Allington, Ella Kennedy, Alex McKerrow, Emily Tarby, Caitlyn Wagner 

Heverling Central High School – Madison Coots, Caden Minnich, Kobe Moore, Cameron Seager, Kelsey Thorp 

High School Learning Center – Salem Estrada, Megan Huyler, Emma Turner 

Hornell High School – Allyson Buckley, Madelyn Moore, Alexis Patrick, Abigail Sexsmith, Trey Woolwine 

Horseheads High School – Joseph Born, Isabelle Giammichele, Antony Raymundo, Mario Ruggiero, Amelia Wilcox 

New Covenant Academy – Natalie Bliss, Kaleb McElrath, Kendra Moisès 

North Penn Mansfield High School – Emma Clark, Karson Dominick, Britney Wilson 

Notre Dame High School – Aedan Gill, Elena Hazelton, Eve Montanarella, Maggie Moore, Alex Shultz 

Thomas A. Edison High School – Thomas Bailey, Payton Littlefield, Dustin Morgan, Emma Romeo, Ava Waters 

Twin Tiers Christian Academy – Sarar Austin, Charish Maglio, Ian Newcomer, Caroline Proctor, Hunter Woughter 

Wellsboro Area High School – Mackayla Patterson, Mikaella Posada, Dallas Schultz, Hayne Webster, Spencer Wetzel 

Williamson – Erik Berkan, Thomas Brown, Jaylin Butler, Ruthie MacBrine, Kaydance Tracy